A Rare Occurance: A First Time Experience

So now what? I’m retired as of five months ago. Time goes by so quickly that trying to remember yesterday compared to the day before is often a blur. I certainly am enjoying a non-structured existence so far, filling my time with whatever I feel like doing whenever I feel like doing it. My wife works for the State of Florida but she’s very much looking forward to retirement before the end of the year as the current environment is turning out to be the worst of times for public servants. In the interim, we have a week’s trip planned to Costa Rica in March, a week on a Florida West coast beach in July, and in September and October an Asian journey to Thailand and Viet Nam; a journey of both mental and physical exploration that will include cosmetic surgery for both of us at the beginning of the journey. Thailand is a well known destination for its culture, its food, its abundance of natural beauty and its world class number of cosmetic surgeons. Cosmetic improvement has been a goal for years, and I just recently accepted to have surgery after being convinced that if the bags under my eyes got any bigger, I could not consider them airplane carry-ons any longer, and my neck cries out for attention, so surgery it is.

Because of the general commonality of life experiences, I think it might be fun to blog my past and present experiences in a hopefully entertaining way. My birth year was just on the outside cusp of the baby boomer generation representing millions of people who are currently approaching retirement and who will be shortly re-thinking their own future, so why not have a blog by someone who is currently going through my own re-thinking and beginning a phase of life that presents positives and negatives completely different than ones that went before. And although this might constitute a general structure for my blog, I will be writting on a wide variety of subject matters non-related to aging, or travel or whatever. I’ve titled my blog “moving on” because that’s what I’m doing at every level. I’ve never had a life plan and I’m not starting now. Each day brings a new set of circumstances to appreciate, acknowledge, and experience. One of them will be this blog, which I hope to bring some thoughts to a few times a week. So let it begin…

About Alan G Billingsley

My career has been varied, including time as a newspaper deliverer, lifeguard, bubble gum maker, door-to-door detergent promoter, telephone book proofreader, short order cook, private employment agency counselor and owner, office and credit manger, infantryman, pots and pans salesman, Chinese restaurant cook, Chinese restaurant owner, public employment counselor, budget analyst, tax analyst, grant administrator, radio announcer, radio and television show host, disk jockey, automobile valet, child advocate, and now retiree. I've seldom been bored.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

