The Unbearable Heaviness of Being Dick Cheney

As previously stated, I am new to the game of blogging, but early on I learned the fact that blog verbiage is not all one directional. Take for example a question I received from Gary in Alaska who wrote in response to my first blog where I stated that I would in the future be writing on a number of topics. At first I thought his question was a joke, and why-oh-why among the two million bloggers out there, he chose me to ask a question about Dick Cheney and his rumored affect on the flower species. My immediate thought was to dismiss it when I noticed a newspaper blurb that was beside me on the desk, “EX-VEEP In Town Tomorow To Attend Fund Raiser”. After thinking on it for a few minutes and doing a little research, primarily from Jon Stewart’s web page, I decided in good conscience that I must not let this serendipitous moment pass me by.  I would conduct a little experiment, not only for Gary, but for science.

Early the next morning I stopped by a local flower store and bought a bouquet of tulips (my personal favorite flower) and headed off to the poilitcal venue at one of Palm Beach’s upscale hotels and luckily positioned myself close to the main entrance where photographers were setting up and began my wait. Mentioning that I was a professional blogger didn’t hurt in getting a prime spot, and one photographer from the AP even offered to take a few pictures of me welcoming Dick. The big moment finally arrived, and there before me was the man himself walking, head bowed, straight ahead into the hotel (click, click, click, click, click). I am so glad Mr. AP took some pictures of me, for as you will see with your own eyes, the difference between tulips pre-Dick and post-Dick is amazing. Coincidence? I think not, but more study needs to be done. Until then, you can be the judge!

About Alan G Billingsley

My career has been varied, including time as a newspaper deliverer, lifeguard, bubble gum maker, door-to-door detergent promoter, telephone book proofreader, short order cook, private employment agency counselor and owner, office and credit manger, infantryman, pots and pans salesman, Chinese restaurant cook, Chinese restaurant owner, public employment counselor, budget analyst, tax analyst, grant administrator, radio announcer, radio and television show host, disk jockey, automobile valet, child advocate, and now retiree. I've seldom been bored.
This entry was posted in Political Commentary. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Unbearable Heaviness of Being Dick Cheney

  1. barbara says:

    Very funny! The look on your face is priceless. Cheney has the same effect on many things. Mainly the human spirit.

Leave a Reply

