Because Things Are The Way They Are, Things Will Not Stay The Way They Are

Peg and I met with out Doctor this morning and it was decided that she would have surgery today, rather than me. The reasoning is two-fold. One, she is having a little more work done than Moi, and will take a longer time in surgery, and two, my blood pressure was high and the Doctor wants me to see an internist and a anesthesiologist to sign off. If I can’t get both to approve, then I’m in Bangkok strictly as a tourist. I have about another three hours before an expected call that I can see her in the hospital room, where she will spend the night. If all goes well, she gets released tomorrow back to our apartment. I check into the hospital at 3 PM and surgery is scheduled for 6 PM. Don’t know why my pressure was so high, as I am very calm about the idea of being cut and slashed around my eyes and throat.

A quick story about the first night in the apartment. After previously sleeping for 14 hours after arrival, it was no big surprise we had difficulty getting to sleep last night. A little after 1 AM, I went to the bathroom and upon exiting, when I turned out the light, we lost power…I walked out on the patio, and yes, the entire building was dark except for emergency lighting. The power came back on within five minutes, but I was sure the outage had something to do with my energy level and turning of the bathroom light switch. So now it’s 4:30 in the morning and I need to make another visit, but I grabbed a flashlight instead, as I wanted to keep my enormous power harnessed for the sake of all the occupants. Peg said I was certifiable and she used the facility, using all the light switches while mocking the power gods at the same time. When she turned off the light,to my great surprise, all remained well throughout the building. She went to sleep while I contemplated the odds of coincidence. All in all, I got about two hours sleep before going to the appointment. Little sleep and enormous power releases wouldn’t raise blood pressure, would it?!

So dinner on my own tonight (think I will have Thai) and a visit to my bride, and then who knows what will happen after I flick the switch.

About Alan G Billingsley

My career has been varied, including time as a newspaper deliverer, lifeguard, bubble gum maker, door-to-door detergent promoter, telephone book proofreader, short order cook, private employment agency counselor and owner, office and credit manger, infantryman, pots and pans salesman, Chinese restaurant cook, Chinese restaurant owner, public employment counselor, budget analyst, tax analyst, grant administrator, radio announcer, radio and television show host, disk jockey, automobile valet, child advocate, and now retiree. I've seldom been bored.
This entry was posted in Bangkok, Thailand, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Because Things Are The Way They Are, Things Will Not Stay The Way They Are

  1. Deb Renner says:

    ….a very powerful blog! 🙂 It’s comforting to know they are very conservative on the surgical front, and hope the blood pressure issue goes away. Keeping you both in my thoughts and prayers for successful surgery, quick recovery, and the trip of a lifetime. love to both!

Leave a Reply

