“A Person Has An Opinion. It’s Only An Opinion. It’s Never A Question Of Right Or Wrong” Al Pacino, “Looking for Richard”

UPDATE: 11:21 AM Tuesday
Yesterday afternoon Peg was in the hospital recuperating nicely. Her doctor visited and told her she was fine, the surgery went well and he thinks she will be very pleased with the final results, especially her tight jaw-line. The eight hour time in surgery was normal; five hours for the face-lift, one hour for each eye, and an hour for staff to play “Words with Friends”. Peg believes she has had excellent care and is very happy with turning her long-held wish finally into reality. She was discharged around 6 last evening and has been resting comfortably with her man-servent ever since. She will see her doctor again in a week for a normal check-up. In between, she has little to do but rest, watch some TV until her eyes are able to read again, and be entertained by my many talents, especially my spot-on impersonation of Al Pacino.

Yesterday afternoon I had a chest x-ray, blood-work and EKG as part of normal pre-op procedures, followed by an appointment with a cardiologist because of the previous day’s high-blood pressure readings. The new readings were no better. 200/100, 198/90/ 196/76 were the few I remembered. I should be in the 130/60 range. The cardiologist ordered an echo-cardiogram which results came out fine. Turns out the ticker is in great shape. Cause for sudden rise of BP-unknown. He ordered a supplementary BP medication and asked me to return in 3-4 days, and if the BP was normal, I could re-shedule my surgery. If that scenario took place, I would lose a week from the Vietnam portion of the trip, which to me was really not an option I was willing to do. I am disappointed at the score WATTLE 1 – ALAN 0, however trying to maintain the better angel portion of my psyche I realize that had we both had surgery according to plan, the recovery period would be much more difficult to achieve…this way Peg is well looked-after and I can have a glass of wine if so desired…hell, I can have a glass of wine while mesmorizing Peg doing Pacino’s Michael Corleone…”I know it was you Fredo. You broke my heart. You broke my heart.” OK, back to reality…Peg suggested a few minutes ago a possible cause for the BP rise. Prior to leaving on this trip, I asked my family doctor for some sleeping pills for the long plane rides. However I took one while at home six day before leaving, then one on the plane, and a quarter one night before last. I looked up the pill on the internet and listed under cardiovascular side affects, it read “infrequent aggravated hypertension”. My bride may be bruised and battered, but her brain is tip-top. I will share this promising revelation with the doc the next time we meet.

So for now, everyone is up-to-date. Peg is fine, I am fine, room-service food sucks, so I will have to venture out for meals. The big time difference and lack of instant communication is cumbersome and inconvenient; for those who expressed concern, I am sorry for any stress I may have caused either from my writing or lack thereof. I was originally very concerned about the length of time for surgery, and to be perfectly honest, seeing her post-surgical soccer ball sized head (without the diamonds), freaked me out somewhat. What a difference 24 hours make in appearance and again, she is doing well. We have no plans for the better part of this week…just R&R for Peg until the first follow-up appointment. I should close now while Peg is sleeping and practice my Pacino’s “Scarface”…”I’m Tony Montana. You f**k with me, you f***ing with The Best.” Moving on in Bangkok…

About Alan G Billingsley

My career has been varied, including time as a newspaper deliverer, lifeguard, bubble gum maker, door-to-door detergent promoter, telephone book proofreader, short order cook, private employment agency counselor and owner, office and credit manger, infantryman, pots and pans salesman, Chinese restaurant cook, Chinese restaurant owner, public employment counselor, budget analyst, tax analyst, grant administrator, radio announcer, radio and television show host, disk jockey, automobile valet, child advocate, and now retiree. I've seldom been bored.
This entry was posted in Bangkok, Thailand, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

