A Smile Is An Inexpensive Way To Change Your Looks

After telling and showing Peg the pictures from yesterday’s solitary walk whereupon I found this really cool little hotel (24 rooms), she was very interested in the possability of transferring from our present quarters on the hospital grounds to the botique hotel, Ariyasomvilla. We looked the place up on the internet and it showed no rooms available for the foreseeable future, thereby effectively negating any possible stay. That was that. This morning I paid a visit to the hotel and inquired about availability and was told there were no rooms available until after the date we are flying out. I asked to be contacted in the event of any cancellation and informed them I would chain myself to a table poolside and not move until I heard of a cancellation and the young lady laughed. A second lady came to the desk and they spoke between them, and the second lady told me she remembered me from the day before taking pictures. I explained how much my wife wanted to recover from her operation on their lovely grounds and how disappointed she would be. The desk clerk asked again for the dates I wanted and changed her facial expression a few times while punching the computer. I was just about to add that I was a Yankee fan in the hopes that would help, when she smiled and said she could give me the room style I requested for seven days starting on the 12th…perfect and I didn’t even have to play my Bronx Bomber trump card! I was fortunate enough to be in the neighborhood and stop by in-person; that had to help. So Peg is all smiles and excited that recovery will continue in a less medicinal environment beginning on Monday During my sojourn, I also walked a few more streets and took a few more pictures. And here they are:

A place to sit, listen to the sound of water, and gather one's thoughts...


Don't Be Koi



Leroy Bird, the baddest bird in the whole damn town...


Leroy's Family of Angry Birds


Lunchtime traffic below the Skytrain


One of the many small open-air markets scattered around the city.


A Bangkok support gathering...


The Colonel was next door to a Pizza Hut...




Finally...such a relief to find a no stick massage!

About Alan G Billingsley

My career has been varied, including time as a newspaper deliverer, lifeguard, bubble gum maker, door-to-door detergent promoter, telephone book proofreader, short order cook, private employment agency counselor and owner, office and credit manger, infantryman, pots and pans salesman, Chinese restaurant cook, Chinese restaurant owner, public employment counselor, budget analyst, tax analyst, grant administrator, radio announcer, radio and television show host, disk jockey, automobile valet, child advocate, and now retiree. I've seldom been bored.
This entry was posted in Bangkok, Thailand, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Smile Is An Inexpensive Way To Change Your Looks

  1. Barbara Kiddle says:

    Wonderful, that you can stay at the hotel. The gardens and poolsie will be so much more resotative

  2. Bud Weygant says:

    Hey……. it might not be to late for you to have a career as a stand up comedian. This is where you have been heading for years. Regards to you and Pat.

    Sue and Tom Rogans’ IT professional,

    Bud “the Duck”

Leave a Reply

