Human Folly

225763_2026376185342_4584573_n

I lost a sister today; actually I found out today that she passed yesterday because I was told her daughter posted the fact on FaceBook…

I lost a sister today who was estranged from me for slightly over sixteen years; the last time we saw one another was in 1995 at her South Carolina home where she threw me a party to celebrate my moving from New York to Florida. We laughed most of the night away…

I lost a sister today who would not forgive me for some unexplained sin or sins from the past, even though I tried to break through the silence with numerous failed attempts; her immediate family followed her lead…

I lost a sister today who first taught me how to both slow and fast dance which helped me overcome a shyness with young ladies…

I lost a sister today who generously lent me her large and heavy Chevy convertible to go on a date while she used my father’s small and light Renault, only to be hit later that night by a teenaged uninsured driver who ran a stop sign and crashed into the driver’s side, throwing her fifty feet to a lawn…the police told my parents she was dead at the scene; nearly every bone in her body was broken, but she lived. Recovery lasted nearly a lifetime…

I lost a sister today who planned our mother’s 80th birthday party in the backyard of the house we were raised in, and danced with her seamlessly and effortlessly to “I Had The Time of My Life”…

I lost a sister today who shared with me the heartaches and nighmares of being children of alcoholics…

I lost a sister today who once upon a time had a zest for life and larger-than-life personality who took over any room in which she entered; I was told she recently needed a kidney transplant and dialysis, both of which she rejected; her zest was no more…

I lost a sister today who shared the same genes and the same blood, and the same ability to bounce-off one another in playfullness, and the same fallabilities which ultimetly destroyed our relationship…

I lost a sister today whom I have missed deeply for so many years, and now will miss forever…

The folly each one of us is capable of making throughout our lives can pass in a second, or last decades. Trust me when I express that it should be everyone’s duty to try for the former, not the latter.

About Alan G Billingsley

My career has been varied, including time as a newspaper deliverer, lifeguard, bubble gum maker, door-to-door detergent promoter, telephone book proofreader, short order cook, private employment agency counselor and owner, office and credit manger, infantryman, pots and pans salesman, Chinese restaurant cook, Chinese restaurant owner, public employment counselor, budget analyst, tax analyst, grant administrator, radio announcer, radio and television show host, disk jockey, automobile valet, child advocate, and now retiree. I've seldom been bored.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Human Folly

  1. Joanie says:

    Beautiful ! Thank you so much for sharing.
    Know that I understand each word and know that I love you.
    JB

  2. Kim says:

    That was from the heart and just beautiful. Thank you for sharing that part of yourself.

    Joan’s daughter, Kim

Leave a Reply

