“Moving On…” ~ 2011

Not quite a year ago, on January 29th, 2011, with the help of WordPress, I posted my first blog using the lead title “Moving On…” A few days ago I received an email from WordPress summarizing my blogging numbers, and upon reviewing them again today, I thought I would share a few numbers and thoughts. I published thirty-three blogs during last year that rsulted in 1,800 views. My busiest viewer day was on November 27th with 83 people reading “An Indescribable, Fanciful Scene”. What I find most amazing is where the total views came from geographically. The vast majority originated from the United States, but also there were North American views from Canada, Trinidad and Tabago. In South America, views came from Columbia, Guyana, Brazil, and Equador. Europe’s countries included the United Kingdom, Germany, Netherlands, France, and Turkey. South Africa and Egypt from the African Continent; Austrailia and New Zealand from Oceania, and finally, Asia was represented by Vietnam, Thailand, Singapore, Malaysia, and Indonesia………WOW, I had no idea. However, I learned a long time ago when I hosted a daily live radio talk show that it really didn’t matter how many people called the show; what did matter was how many were listening. It takes a concerted effort to take a proactive action such as calling, writing or posting, and most people don’t. A good example of this is the fact that most FaceBook friends rarely post something about themselves, but are happy to see what other’s are up to. I’m not sure how I managed to have someone from Trinidad, or Egypt, or Indonesia read my musings, but I’m very happy that I did. The blog’s year-end summary has given me a new prospective on blogging and energy to begin thinking about future activities. An added resolution will be to try to increase the number of views in 2012, hopfully beginning with the continuation of travel highlights from our recent seven week Asian adventure. Next on the horizon is a blog on Hue in central Vietnam; for well over a hundred years until 1945, Hue was the capital of Vietnam.

So thank you very much for taking the time to view my blogs last year and I hope you will continue to join me in whatever lies ahead in 2012. Cheers!

About Alan G Billingsley

My career has been varied, including time as a newspaper deliverer, lifeguard, bubble gum maker, door-to-door detergent promoter, telephone book proofreader, short order cook, private employment agency counselor and owner, office and credit manger, infantryman, pots and pans salesman, Chinese restaurant cook, Chinese restaurant owner, public employment counselor, budget analyst, tax analyst, grant administrator, radio announcer, radio and television show host, disk jockey, automobile valet, child advocate, and now retiree. I've seldom been bored.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “Moving On…” ~ 2011

  1. Joanie says:

    Very interesting…from far away Exton, PA

Leave a Reply

