Basketball Is Like War

“Basketball is like war in that offensive weapons are developed first, and it always takes a while for the defense to catch up”. Red Auerbach

When the smoke cleared last night/early morning, 12 out of my original sixteen had succeeded to the next round. However because defending champion Connecticut NEVER should have lost in the first round, I am taking a gimmie game for that debacle, and another gimmie game for the poorly refereed VCU 3 point squeaker. Neither outcome would happen again in the next hundred years so with the two gimmie games I had a whopping 87.5 pick percentage which is one reason people call me Mister B(asketball). So lets get a look at today’s competition.

EAST

Cincinnati vs Texas: Anything, and I mean anything I would like to see happen in sports and politics always turns into disappointment when both the states of Ohio and Texas are involved. Since Texas is the more predictably disappointing, I’ll go with Ohio today: CINCINATI

FSU vs. St. Bonaventure: Before getting married, I had a sports free-will; after marrying a FSU graduate, I became lobotomized by the Seminole chop. Even so, all the prayers for St. Bonnie will not help today: FSU

SOUTH

Duke vs. Lehigh: Royalty versus three letters away from being a chocolate drink. As the old rock and roll song almost goes…”Duke, Duke, Duke of Durham
As I walk through this world
Nothing can stop the Duke of Durham”: DUKE

Notre Dame vs. Xavier: Forgive me Father, but I have to choose and tomorrow being St. Paddy’s Day, I have to go for the fighting Irish: NOTRE DAME

MIDWEST

San Diego State vs. North Carolina State: Uh Oh, here we go with two “state” schools. Hailing from California, San Diego can be shaky, so I have to go with the state that produces more good basketball players at any school within its boundaries, than anywhere else: NORTH CAROLINA STATE

Creighton vs. Alabama: I may be wrong but I think this school might have been named after the famous author, whose book I really liked. On the other hand, I know a restaurant in Alabama whose waiters throw dinner rolls at you from accross the room: Hands down, CREIGHTON

Georgetown vs. Belmont: Should be Georgetown all the way, but I have some very fond longshot memories from the Belmont Track. Georgetown residents are used to getting their way, so I’m buying an upset win ticket for: BELMONT

North Carolina vs. Vermont: (see North Carolina State above) It’s Moonlight In Vermont as the lights go out for the Green Mountain boys: UNC

Michigan vs. Ohio: As I said, Ohio has a way to screw me, but Michagan’s auto industry is back, and so is their basketball team: MICHIGAN

St. Mary’s vs. Purdue: How does one pick between the images of virgins vs. chickens? Smelling a slight upset…: PURDUE

Temple vs. USF: Temple was the first college I attended that did not invite me back for a second year, so I think I will not invite them back for a second round. Hello local team!: USF

Kansas vs. Detroit: I don’t know where I would be less depressed…Detroit or Kansas, but the concept of urban living in general is growing on me, so my upset pick of the week: DETROIT

WEST

Florida vs. Virginia: The only time I don’t favor Florida to win is when we play them in football, and I never favor Virginia to win in anything, so go Gators: FLORIDA

Missouri vs. Norfolk St.: I have never, ever, ever, heard anyone in my life say they wanted to go to college at Norfolk State: MISSOURI

Memphis vs. Saint Louis: I had one of the most horrendous, publically humiliating professional experiences in Memphis. Saint Louis currenly basks in the glow of having baseball’s world champions: ST. LOUIS

Michigan State vs. Long Island: What does anybody really know about Long Island except it’s cool in the summer, it takes forever to get into the city, and it is the home of deliciously concocted iced tea. Basketball? Not so much: MICHIGAN

About Alan G Billingsley

My career has been varied, including time as a newspaper deliverer, lifeguard, bubble gum maker, door-to-door detergent promoter, telephone book proofreader, short order cook, private employment agency counselor and owner, office and credit manger, infantryman, pots and pans salesman, Chinese restaurant cook, Chinese restaurant owner, public employment counselor, budget analyst, tax analyst, grant administrator, radio announcer, radio and television show host, disk jockey, automobile valet, child advocate, and now retiree. I've seldom been bored.
This entry was posted in Sports - Basketball. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Basketball Is Like War

  1. Barbara Kiddle says:

    Well Mr. B(asketball) today we are not so in sync. We differ on 7 picks. This could be a go ahead day for one of us.
    I had to go with Temple since they showed such good sense in their student selection process. I just hope they are as smart on the court.
    You’re right about Perdue though. I may have goofed on this one as I picked Mary. I think I had just eaten, and so being satiated, failed to “smell” the chicken.
    Okay you’ve gotta tell us about your public humiliation in Memphis. Is it possible, that I missed a one of your many, many stories of humiliation? We all await. Spill it Alan.
    Oh Alan, you forgot about the Camptown races. Close enough to Georgtown to bring back memories…that is if you were alive and having fun in the gay 90’s. Any song with Doo Dah in it gets my vote every Doo Dah Day.

  2. Bud Weygant says:

    Al,

    I don’t know how you can possibly bet against “Beale Stree, the soul of rock and rollt” and the best ribs in the US at the “Rendezvous” in Memphis. Oh, Oh, wait…YOU WERE HUMILIATED? I know you Al you cant be humiliated.

    Bud

Leave a Reply

