A Very Good Day

[Author’s Note: I have signed up for an organized blogging challenge of a blog a day for the month of November. My normal blog consists of random thoughts on random subjects and I will continue to follow that format. My goal is to sucessfully meet the challenge without totally aleinating anyone following my blog. Time will tell.]

A few weeks ago, my wife and I visited her oncologist for a normal follow-up appointment ten months after receiving her last radiation treatment. She complained of having some intermittent discomfort on her right side. The doctor ordered a Cat scan, a bone scan, and blood work to determine if the discomfort was the result of the return of cancer, or something else. All the tests were performed two days ago, and late this afternoon my wife received a call from her doctor informing her that everything came back negative for cancer. The apparent cause of the discomfort was the discovery of a fractured rib that was estimated as originating sometime between May of this year to the present. Neither one of us could remember anything that might cause such trauma, but quickly returned to the good news. We appreciated the fact that it only took two days for the tests to be read, reports written, and the doctor personally calling with the good news. Re-testing will be done in three months to confirm the rib fracture was not caused by cancer and everything shows clean imaging. Today was a very good day and I wanted to share. 

 

 

About Alan G Billingsley

My career has been varied, including time as a newspaper deliverer, lifeguard, bubble gum maker, door-to-door detergent promoter, telephone book proofreader, short order cook, private employment agency counselor and owner, office and credit manger, infantryman, pots and pans salesman, Chinese restaurant cook, Chinese restaurant owner, public employment counselor, budget analyst, tax analyst, grant administrator, radio announcer, radio and television show host, disk jockey, automobile valet, child advocate, and now retiree. I've seldom been bored.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Very Good Day

  1. deb says:

    What a happy end to my day!! I broke two ribs once simply by having a coughing fit….nothing you can do about them, but generally you feel it….an “only hurts when I laugh (or cough)” feeling. Hopefully, something as simple as that. xxox to both

  2. Barbara says:

    Can’t remember when I was ever happier about a broken bone. 🙂

Leave a Reply

