I’ve Experienced Heat; I’ve Experienced No Heat; Heat Is Better

Day seven of a thirty day blog challenge and this may be the most boring one of the month, but to me, it may be the happiest. As some of you know, my wife Peg and I bought a vacation home this past summer in the Berkshire region of Massachusetts.

Image

It’s a farm house that was built in 1898 or earlier. I say “or earlier” because records only go back to 1898. It needs extensive updating and contracts that first were signed in July are still active as assorted projects are on-going. However, one project that has just been completed is the installation of a new heating system. The old system was a fifty year old oil furnace with radiators in every room. Peg does not like radiators because they take up space and many heating areas have cold spots. So out came the radiators, the furnace and the rusting oil tank in August just prior to fixing structural issues in the basement.

Image

But having the new furnace installed was delayed, and when some chilly days and nights arrived in September, and even chillier weather in October, no heat in the house was not a pleasant feeling. We have lived in Florida for the past seventeen years and I get cold here when  the temperatures dip into the sixties, so when the Berkshire weather intermittingly dropped to the forties and upper thirties, I became a tad whiney and grumpy. Peg might choose other words to describe my demeanor, but this is my blog. Anyway, I received an email 48 hours ago informing me the new heating system is finally completed, inspected and set at fifty degrees. Hallelujah!  

Image

After being back in Florida since mid-October, we are retuning to the Berkshires for two weeks to continue overseeing kitchen and master bedroom renovations; the extended weather forecast is showing highs in the upper thirties, and lows in the twenties upon arrival. My first planned activity in the house will be to visit the thermostat, and my second will be to go to the basement…  “Good morning furnace, how are you? Don’t you know me, I’m your native owner!” I may once again morph into a little whiney and grumpy husband during those two weeks, but this time it will be only when I’m outside. 

Image

 

About Alan G Billingsley

My career has been varied, including time as a newspaper deliverer, lifeguard, bubble gum maker, door-to-door detergent promoter, telephone book proofreader, short order cook, private employment agency counselor and owner, office and credit manger, infantryman, pots and pans salesman, Chinese restaurant cook, Chinese restaurant owner, public employment counselor, budget analyst, tax analyst, grant administrator, radio announcer, radio and television show host, disk jockey, automobile valet, child advocate, and now retiree. I've seldom been bored.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’ve Experienced Heat; I’ve Experienced No Heat; Heat Is Better

  1. Barbara says:

    Not at all boring to me! So glad you’ll have heat when up there. I love your blogs.

Leave a Reply

