794

Image

For me, one of the exciting aspects of living in the early 21st century is the ability to go to an internet link of a company that, as far as I can tell, makes all written knowledge of the world available to anyone with a simple click of the search button. Want to know who starred in a particular movie, Google it. Re-visit the Table of Geological Periods, Google it. On what day of the week were you born? Google it. Ask any question that you can imagine, and the answer is available in micro-seconds. Well, maybe not speculative questions like who really killed JFK, or why would anyone be interested in wasting life’s precious minutes “Keeping Up With The Kardashians”? And then there’s the Google Earth technology which can, at my command, zoom in from space to show on any screen my car parked in the driveway. Someday with perhaps the help of the NSA, Google Earth may have the capability to zoom to anyone’s den window and watch a blog being created live. By the end of this century, maybe all a person will need to do to blog is simply sit in front of a screen and think the words, and they will appear. That may be the future, In the past, during the eighties and nineties, the Wall Street community liked to refer to themselves as the Masters of the Universe. How shallow. The real Masters of the Universe are the employees at Google.

But this blog is really not about Google. It is about using Google as a tool to explore random numbers and what I can learn from arbitrarily picking random numbers and Googling them to see what’s out there. While sitting at my desk trying to think of what I was going to write for today’s blog, I noticed a piece of scrap paper with two numbers written; 2087 and 794. “2087” is the number of people who signed up to a challenge to blog every day during the month of November. “794” is my number indicating when I had joined the list. After seeing it I immediately wrote it down and so far whenever I think about writing during the day, I mentally refer to myself as #794, as in…”Remember 794 to read the newspaper looking for writing ideas”. For some illogical reason, I find comfort in a random, cold number. But then I thought, “wait a minute, my mother died in July, 1994; suddenly a number on a list morphed into a very personal thought. What else does “794” represent? Immediately I Googled the number.

  • 794 is classified as an elite credit score for FICO, which every credit company uses;
  • Europe in the year 794, Vikings could be found sacking and pillaging assorted abbeys ( I didn’t know how to spell “pillaging”, so I Googled it.).
  • In Asia, Kyota became the Japanese capital.
  • When in a library and you are looking for a book on indoor games of skill, you can find it by using the Dewey Decimal Classification Number 794. And finally,
  • If anyone ever indicates their area code is 794, it’s a ruse. There is no area code 794 as of this writing.

And I will add one more number I read about while researching this blog; 36,000,000+. This is the number of blogs published by WordPress in 2012. I looked again at that huge number and what immediately came to mind was a scene at the end of a movie where a lone crew member of a small fishing vessel that capsized in an ocean during a monster storm, pops his head out the water, and realizes the rest of the crew and the boat are gone forever. The camera lingers for a few seconds on the man’s face and then slowly moves away and upward until the ocean is so large you can no longer see the man.The crewmember is doomed. I see my blog as the man, with the camera again pulling further and further away from an ocean of 36 million blogs until noooooo!!! My blog is no longer visible. But hey, the good news is that if you are reading this blog and are not a follower, it means you beat the odds; my blog was found in the vastness. And that brings a smile to my face. I think the movie was “Perfect Storm”…I’ll Google it to find out.

About Alan G Billingsley

My career has been varied, including time as a newspaper deliverer, lifeguard, bubble gum maker, door-to-door detergent promoter, telephone book proofreader, short order cook, private employment agency counselor and owner, office and credit manger, infantryman, pots and pans salesman, Chinese restaurant cook, Chinese restaurant owner, public employment counselor, budget analyst, tax analyst, grant administrator, radio announcer, radio and television show host, disk jockey, automobile valet, child advocate, and now retiree. I've seldom been bored.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 794

  1. Bud says:

    Al,

    I just noticed your picture; the one next to your short bio. I read the bio and think you should add to it; Ernest “papa”Hemingway look-alike contestant.

    Bud

Leave a Reply

