Egg In The Hole

Image

I was a freshman at the University of Louisville and I needed a part-time job to help out with expenses. A friend told me the all-night restaurant at the airport was looking for a short-order cook, and I applied since I had vast experience making cereal and milk, toast, sandwiches with chips, and spaghetti. I not only got the job, I was also made night manager. 

It was not long before the other staff discovered I knew little of either cooking or managing, but I made them a deal. If they helped me with my job, I would help them in as many ways as I could. One waiter asked if that included allowing his girlfriend to visit. My response was I’ll dedicate a booth reserved for only for her. Game on!

The first order I took to cook was from a gentleman who asked for an egg in the hole and a cup of coffee. My hand shook so badly when I served the cup of coffee, he asked me if I had a medical condition. There was almost as much coffee in the saucer than there was in the cup. I had never heard of an egg in the hole. The man told me to fry an egg in a hole of a slice of bread. The white stays on the bread while the yolk cooks against the heat of the grille. When the customer realized I wasn’t quite grasping the concept, he walked around the counter and stayed there while giving step-by-step instructions. Now that is my definition of customer service! 

I survived the initial orientation to short order cooking and worked at the airport for a year. The waiter’s girlfriend visited many times, as did the the other staff’s loved ones. It turned out to be a happy place to work all night, and the plane’s crews loved us. The original egg in the hole would be a snap for me now. I would ask do you want the egg on plain bread, French toast style, in a waffle or bagel. Bam! Nailed it!

For a dinner tonight I am sharing preparation for an appetizer of cheese croutons with wild mushrooms in Madeira Cream. Never made it before, but I do know that however it turns out,, my hands will not be shaking at all during the process.

About Alan G Billingsley

My career has been varied, including time as a newspaper deliverer, lifeguard, bubble gum maker, door-to-door detergent promoter, telephone book proofreader, short order cook, private employment agency counselor and owner, office and credit manger, infantryman, pots and pans salesman, Chinese restaurant cook, Chinese restaurant owner, public employment counselor, budget analyst, tax analyst, grant administrator, radio announcer, radio and television show host, disk jockey, automobile valet, child advocate, and now retiree. I've seldom been bored.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Egg In The Hole

  1. Janice Heck says:

    Good for you for taking on a challenge and hanging in there!

  2. Barbara says:

    Love it! Keep blogging. There are a lot, well maybe several, but definitely more than a few, and for sure more than a couple of, people who love reading them, even if they don’t comment on each. It’s like waking up to open the paper and flipping through to find your favorite humorist/columnist. You know it may be thought provoking but will always bring a smile to your face.

    • That is so nice to say. As in all so social media, people who comment would like to see some sort of recognition. I have been fortunate enough this week to get three new followers (all strangers) and a handful of comments which were all positive, again from strangers. So I’m feeling good about the blogging challenge, and I’ll see overall where I am on December 1. Thanks again, your comment meant the most.

Leave a Reply

