“A Piece Of My Heart”

Image                 Image

Peg and I went  to Stockbridge’s Red Lion Inn for a late afternoon glass of wine and sitting in front of the fireplace was an older couple drinking spiced hot cider and playing Scrabble. “Henry, you have to help me decide which University I should leave my papers to; Northwestern, Ohio, or Iowa?” Henry thought and replied “pick one and send them all there.” I leaned over to Peg and whispered  “ah, the simple minds of men”.  “Excuse me” Peg interrupted,  “forgive my boldness, but I am an admirer of the written word. If you wouldn’t mind a suggestion, why not write to all of them asking how they would choose to keep them? May I also ask what is your name.?” The woman looked at Peg and smiled. “That seems like a very good idea, thank you. My name is Shirley Lauro and I have written and produced plays on broadway. I also wrote one novel, “The Edge”. I think my most famous play was “A Piece of  My Heart”, about Army nurses who served in Viet Nam.”  Peg and Shirley talked for a few minutes and then the lovely couple walked out into the frigid night air.

An average afternoon turned into a delightful happenstance. Upon getting home, we discovered much more about Ms. Lauro. From a 2010 Goddreads quote: 100 Best Plays Written By Americans, #36 A Piece of My Heart”.

A lesson learned by me today is whenever a loved one or friend asks if you want to go for a drink, say Yes! You never know who you might meet.

About Alan G Billingsley

My career has been varied, including time as a newspaper deliverer, lifeguard, bubble gum maker, door-to-door detergent promoter, telephone book proofreader, short order cook, private employment agency counselor and owner, office and credit manger, infantryman, pots and pans salesman, Chinese restaurant cook, Chinese restaurant owner, public employment counselor, budget analyst, tax analyst, grant administrator, radio announcer, radio and television show host, disk jockey, automobile valet, child advocate, and now retiree. I've seldom been bored.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “A Piece Of My Heart”

  1. Barbara says:

    Very cool.

Leave a Reply

