I Am So Grateful

A blog is a personal creation somewhat similar, to me, as writing a letter. Instead of being addressed to one person, a blog is addressed to anyone in cyberspace interested enough to read it. More times than not, I think my driving desire is to tell stories that my children and grandchildren will read more than once as the years go by. They view me in the normal concept of child to parent or grandparent, but someday I imagine them wanting to know more, and then if that day ever comes, I want them to read all my blogs to imagine me in broader context. I am thankful to be living in the era of digital social media where families and friend can keep in touch as often or as little as they wish.

All the above being said, I want to use today’s posting to reflect on recent events and to give thanks. My wife was diagnosed with breast cancer in October 2011. From then to January 2013, our lives were mostly tethered to medical circumstances. When her last treatment was completed in January of this year, we took a long-anticipated vacation to Italy to relax and enjoy ourselves. She is now a ten month survivor and doing very well. I am so grateful.

Ten days ago I lost my balance on a steep set of inside stairs and tumbled down and hit my head hard on a wood floor. Blood seeped out of the back of my head as I heard my wife instruct me to “lie still” while she called 911. After a few hours visit to an ER,  turns out I had a concussion, a large hematoma on my head, and multiple bruises. Nothing serious long term. To think about what might have happened gives me pause…I am so grateful.

My wife and I have reached a point in out lives that we are enjoying retirement, and having fun. I am so grateful. Tomorrow we host a small gathering of family and friends for turkey day, and I so look forward for us all to be together, to share love, food, stories and laughter. In an ideal world missing family members would also be there, but they all know they are missed and thought of in the same loving way. And I also look forward to tomorrow as the one day out of the year, I don’t get the stern look when I ask…”please pass the gravy.” For me Thanksgiving is, as Andy Williams will start to sing soon…”the most wonderful time of the year.” I am so grateful.

About Alan G Billingsley

My career has been varied, including time as a newspaper deliverer, lifeguard, bubble gum maker, door-to-door detergent promoter, telephone book proofreader, short order cook, private employment agency counselor and owner, office and credit manger, infantryman, pots and pans salesman, Chinese restaurant cook, Chinese restaurant owner, public employment counselor, budget analyst, tax analyst, grant administrator, radio announcer, radio and television show host, disk jockey, automobile valet, child advocate, and now retiree. I've seldom been bored.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I Am So Grateful

  1. Dale l says:

    Enjoy your blog. To you and your family a Happy Thanksgiving

  2. Barbara says:

    I am grateful that you are in our family.

  3. May Lavinia says:

    Ahh. Perfectly said. And yes, you have a LOT to be grateful for. Lucky man.

Leave a Reply

