30 Days – 30 Blogs

words1

“If you write one story, it may be bad; if you write a hundred, you have the odds in your favor.”  Edgar Rice Burroughs

Last month, November 2013, I wrote slightly over 15,000 words as part of a bloggers challenge to write a blog a day for 30 days. Before November 1, my previous blog was written seven months earlier. I had never before tried to write every day, It was a fun and interesting challenge. Because I advertise it as “random thoughts and observations”, I never know what I will write until I sit down in front of the keyboard. This process is probably not the best, but it seems to work for me. WordPress published over 36 million blogs last year so I realize any of my efforts are viewed mainly by relatives and friends, however by the end of the month I did pick up  21 more followers plus a larger number of people who commented their liking of a particular piece. New followers included an E-book author from Romania; twin sisters living in the Netherlands who love to travel, a nanny on Long Island, a middle-aged male self-medicating for depression and anxiety for over 27 years, an Air Lingus flight attendant who wants to show me how to make money thru blogging, and a young man who once weighed over 350 pounds and changed his life by eating nothing but plants. He now can run half-marathons. These interesting people and others now get an email of anything I blog, and just the thought of total strangers being interested in some of what I write is both fascinating and exciting.

My new goal is to try to write primarily a humor blog once a week on random subjects and see if I can develop a rhythm for writing. Thanks to all that put together November’s writing challenge. I completed it and feel really good about my effort. Below are my 30 titles, so if you’re reading my blog for the first time, and see a title you like, you can find it and see if you like it. I really hope you find something you like, especially if you are self-medicating for depression and anxiety…

A Very Good Day    Buy Me Some Peanuts And Cracker Jax    Get Ready, Get Set, Bang    Ten Annoying Aspects Of Daily Living    A New Level Of Maturity    Food Is Symbolic Of Love When Words are Inadequate    I’ve Experienced Heat; I’ve Experienced No Heat; Heat Is Better    794    Egg In The Hole    Childs Play    You’re In The Army Now    Is It Summer Yet    The Duke, Rita, And Me    Touched By Kindness    They Called Me Mr. Cheer    Good Evening Ladies    Lucky # 7    Eat, Fall, Pray, Love    A Piece Of My Heart    Last Meal    And If You Wrong Us, Shall We Not Revenge    JFK’s Legacy To Me    Open To All Comers    November Arrived, Cold As Frozen Iron    Turkey Head Dance    Come Fly With Me    Remembering The Thanksgiving My Turkey Exploded    I Am So Grateful    A Raucous Thanksgiving    Travel Tales

About Alan G Billingsley

My career has been varied, including time as a newspaper deliverer, lifeguard, bubble gum maker, door-to-door detergent promoter, telephone book proofreader, short order cook, private employment agency counselor and owner, office and credit manger, infantryman, pots and pans salesman, Chinese restaurant cook, Chinese restaurant owner, public employment counselor, budget analyst, tax analyst, grant administrator, radio announcer, radio and television show host, disk jockey, automobile valet, child advocate, and now retiree. I've seldom been bored.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 30 Days – 30 Blogs

  1. Barbara says:

    Thanks for an enjoyable November.

Leave a Reply

