That Kind of Day

Why is it that different devices show different postings on social media platforms. I like what I see on Twitter using my cell phone more than the tweets I see on my iPad, but I prefer the iPad because the screen is bigger. It’s going to be THAT kind of day, is it?  What to do? Aha! I go to my Mac Air but its not charged. And I don’t have an iWatch, or I would check that too. Never mind, I’ll watch TV. Wait, there’s a problem there because I took a solemn oath last night not to turn on commercial TV until further notice (my only exception will be CBS Sunday Morning, fast-forwarding past the headlines).  Speaking of headlines, I read earlier that there is now a 51% chance of either Trump winning the presidency or the Cubs winning the world series. If either comes true, I’m guessing the end of days is nigh.
I forgot what was I thinking? Oh yes, the TV. I can get the TV on, but not the cable. Now the cable is on but the TV just went off. Either my dyslexia is getting worse or I have too many remotes. The sun is shining so a good walk is in order. But its not even 11 am, the temperature is 90 degrees and I don’t like to sweat. Unfortunately, the new color-coordinated exercise outfit will have to wait. I have an audible book to start but it is over 10 hours long about a girl on a train or something, and just listening is too sedentary. In a couple of hours I could go to the movies in an air-conditioned theater that serves buttered popcorn but the best movie showing right now is about an airplane crash in NYC. I’d rather take a shoe-less walk on a sizzling sidewalk in south Florida and look like one of those giant floppy armed blow-ups outside of car washes. That said, I might change my mind because I think the movie’s main character is Sully, the “best scarer” from the movie Monsters, Inc.. What to do…what to do?
I know…I’ll vacuum! I love to vacuum because it always both soothes my mind and allows me to sing at the top of my lungs without alarming the neighbors. Looking back, most of my most important decisions were made while either cleaning or simply putzing around. OK, times a wasting…gotta go and fire up the Electrolux…

“The act, when vacuuming, of running over a string at least a dozen times, reaching over and picking it up, examining it, then putting it down give the vacuum one more chance.”

 

About Alan G Billingsley

My career has been varied, including time as a newspaper deliverer, lifeguard, bubble gum maker, door-to-door detergent promoter, telephone book proofreader, short order cook, private employment agency counselor and owner, office and credit manger, infantryman, pots and pans salesman, Chinese restaurant cook, Chinese restaurant owner, public employment counselor, budget analyst, tax analyst, grant administrator, radio announcer, radio and television show host, disk jockey, automobile valet, child advocate, and now retiree. I've seldom been bored.
This entry was posted in Humor, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to That Kind of Day

  1. Nancy Kojima says:

    Funny Post…I just began a book, called Girl on a Train. I kid you not. Have emailed…to no avail. Your pal, Nancy

    ________________________________

  2. Barbara kiddle says:

    Might I suggest you get earbuds and listen to your book ( Girl on the train?) while you walk. Thus you accomplish two things at once. Both are good for you. Later you can sing, vacuum, eat a a turkey leg and watch the Yankees. Some good for you, some not. But what a day!

Leave a Reply

