Auld Lang Syne

“For auld lang syne, my dear,
For auld lang syne.
We’ll take a cup o’ kindness yet,
For auld lang syne.”

Growing up, I spent every New Year’s Eve at a relative’s house party for family and friends. After the stroke of mid-night and hugs and kisses had been shared, everyone sang “Auld Lang Syne” . I had no understanding of the meaning, as this was a singing family anyway, but it was very comforting.
Seems that the 18th century Scottish poet Robert Burns first penned the words and attached them to a popular melody of the time and submitted it for publication. Later he would write a poem about it.
“We’ll take a cup of kindness yet” was the act of men and women drinking with each other to celebrate old memories and their friendships in general. Over the centuries the song evolved to be especially popular at New Year’s, funerals, graduations, and other social events.
“Auld Lang Syne” has lost some of its popularity in the 21st Century, but for me, today’s expanded version of the meaning just might very well be FaceBook, and Twitter, and my blog “Moving On”. These provide us all with an opportunity to see on a daily basis what we are doing, thinking, and sharing, especially anything pertaining to animals. 😽 And it does so not only for the present, but for years past courtesy of F.B.’s “On This Day”. Our very own “cup of kindness yet” in digital glory.
I’m not embarrassed to say how important it is for me to see, learn, laugh, cry, and generally admire each of you and the ability to know what’s makes your world, in the words of the Chairman of the Board, go ring-a-ding-ding. It also provides me with daily opportunities to express to you all my imagination in assorted ways that make me happy, and as a bonus, hopefully add a smile or two to you all.
2016 had its fair share of glorious moments, but taken in totem, I’m very much willing to let it go in anticipation of new possibilities in 2017. Looking forward to continuing this magnificent life with you by my cyber-side. HAPPY NEW YEAR !! Love, Alan

img_4150

About Alan G Billingsley

My career has been varied, including time as a newspaper deliverer, lifeguard, bubble gum maker, door-to-door detergent promoter, telephone book proofreader, short order cook, private employment agency counselor and owner, office and credit manger, infantryman, pots and pans salesman, Chinese restaurant cook, Chinese restaurant owner, public employment counselor, budget analyst, tax analyst, grant administrator, radio announcer, radio and television show host, disk jockey, automobile valet, child advocate, and now retiree. I've seldom been bored.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment